Multiple Sclerosis, Vitamin D, and Viruses

http://www.DrKrupka.com Dr. Krupka gives a detailed account of how Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is affected by vitamin D levels and viral history.  This is some serious content and worth watching more than once.  If you have an autoimmune disease or know someone who does, grab your pen and paper to take notes and change your life!! Pass it on to your friends.

Multiple Sclerosis, Vitamin D, and Viral Issues…a MUST SEE!

For more information about your vitamin D levels, go to http://www.SixSimpleBloodTests.com

Categories: Chronic Illness, functional medicine, Multiple Sclerosis, Vitamin D | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Multiple Sclerosis, Vitamin D, and Viruses

  1. I really enjoyed this video. It left me with more questions than answers about Vitamin D. I hope you will do another video talking about how to supplement Vit D and where the process can go wrong, much like your thyroid video. Is supplementation the answer or is there potentially some roadblocks along the way that could be an issue?

    • @kimk2, Thanks for the comments, I’m glad you liked the video. I get much more specific about how to fix it and what levels are appropriate in my ebook “Six Simple Blood Tests That Can Change Your Life, and why your doctor won’t order them”. You can get 3 free videos and an offer to buy the book at http://www.SixSimpleBloodTests.com. I think there will be another vitamin D video coming out in the near future, though.

      • Gam

        Hello, Dr. Krupka. I found the MS/vitamin D video to be very eye opening; i’m dealing with MS (13 years and running) and the disease still seems to be in the “relapsing/remitting stage.” While many would dream of having the least destructive form or level of MS for so long, it has been putting through Hell since January, and scores of tests have been taken.

        Last week, my longtime neurologist sent me for a blood test regarding interleukin 6 and 17; the lab tested for 6, but their database screen does not list 17 at all–the same applies to John Hopkins, other labs and the local big university (which–ironically enough–performs genetic tests to map out disease, but they do not test nor “get” interleukin 17). That said, the lab said if I found a place where it is tested, they would send it there, which brings me to my question: where would I send a blood sample to test for interleukin 17? I’m desperately fighting to just live/survive MS and all of its terrible effects on my body.

        My neurologist also suggested 5000 IU of vitamin D; he cites no claims for its benefits (neurologically speaking) and i’m wondering if I should increase my intake of vitamin D (and calcium).

        Thanks for the information,

        G.F.

      • You’ll have to discuss the specifics with your doctor, but I aim to have my patients’ vitamin D levels around 75 (not 30 like most labs indicate) so you would likely get a higher dose in my office.

      • Marti

        Dr. Krupka,
        I see conflicting data about Vitamin D and pancreatic cancer. Some research says it prevents it while others say high dosages can cause it?

      • I think that we are finding that you do better with high doses of vitamin D if you also have small supplemental doses of vitamin K in the mix.

  2. Great video Dr Krupka!

    Have already shared with a bunch of people!

    I’m on a bit of a vitamin D mission at the moment after the dramatic changes it’s made to my psoriasis. I now suppliment with 5,000 IU D3 per day.

    I hear a lot of talk, especially in the paleo world, about autoimmune diseases and lifestyle changes that can help/cure them. It’s always hashimoto’s, Celiac disease, and MS that seem to be mentioned though. This is a little frustrating as I believe psoriasis, eczema and dermatitis effect a higher percentage of the populous than any of the other 3 (and can be equally debilitating).

    My question is: are autoimmune diseases which manifest themselves as inflammation in the skin in the same boat as the other autoimmune diseases that receive all of the limelight? Do they have the same or similar pathological mechanisms? And if I learn, for example, that nightshades should be avoided by those with autoimmune disease, does that apply to psoraitics too?

    Lastly, you mentioned triggers. Am I right I understanding that once an autoimmune disease has been “triggered”, that it is then ever-present and can only be managed? Is this an epigenetic change? If so, can’t that also be reversed through environmental changes?

    Any advice, information or light you can shed on the management of P would be much appreciated

    • Gavin…Yes…IMO all autoimmune diseases have a fairly common etiology with food allergies / sensitivities, gut disruption, and then immune stimulation. Eczema and psoriasis are usually suggestive of dairy and grain reactions. As for the question about these issues being ever-present…the jury is still out. I prefer to treat them like they are ever-present because it is so difficult to document that they are not..why not err on the safe side and continue to “manage” them aggressively?

  3. Terri Harrison

    I have been diagnosed with MS r/r in 1998 after 2 bouts with Optic Neuritis. I have resisisted my neurologist’s suggestion to try one of the ABC drugs in favor of sleeping with my bed inclined (head up 6-8″ higher than the feet). I’ve had some amalgams removed – which caused a relapse of Optic Neuritis. Now I’ve found a new doc that has me taking Vit D3 (2,000 IU), Vit K (100mcg), DHEA-5. I’m not sure what he expects the results to be, but after watching your video, it sounds like we may be on a good track! I’ve VERY recently been diagnosed with Herpes virus. (Don’t quite know where that came from, but I don’t like it!) Do you have suggestions that might be helpful to pass along for discussion with my new doc? (Rain therapy sounds interesting from the little I read)

    Thanks for whatever ideas you may have.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

